Are You Enough for the Demands of Life?

It’s all around us.  We get signals from commercials, the internet, our government, profit and non-profit corporations, and each other as well, saying that we need more.  If we don’t have more, we are missing out.  Thus having less becomes equated with failure.

We are told we need: newer cars, a bigger house, a bigger tv, a newer phone, OR we need to do more, sign up for this and participate in that.  We worry about the quality of our parenting based on if we have our children in enough activities.  And we take a sick sense of pride in having no time to sit together at the dinner table.  We need more to be more, to do more, and gain happiness by acquiring more. More, more, more, more, more, more…

To make time for all this more, we have exchanged the days of stopping by each other’s homes to sit face to face with social media likes, retweets, and shares to demonstrate a false sense of connection.  We have exchanged family and friend adventures with sitting in the same room staring at some form of a screen.

We are being inundated by this culture of More, but in reality, we have less; less real connection, less interaction, and less understanding.  But we don’t have to live this way.

 

Crazy thought ahead, what if, you are enough?  What if you have enough?  The happiest people on the planet know this secret.  Those who are able to love themselves and share that love to others, know they are enough.  They don’t have to fight the culture of more, because they live in a culture of enough.

You, my friend, are definitely enough.  When I sit with you and share my heart, I feel a deep sense of gratitude.  When we turn off the TV, put our phones away, and you share your hopes and dreams – you inspire me to be a better person.  When I see what you create with the energy you bring, you fuel my creativity.

No, it may not have been perfect or just the way you wanted it, but it was enough.  It did something to the world by changing me.

Just know that despite the messages you are getting from the world-at-large, YOU are enough.  You TRANSFORM me, by being you.

Much love and gratitude!

 

About awakenandrise

Throughout my adult life I have worked in education. I have enjoyed this career to the fullest, but I have recently discovered there is more to me. As I asked the questions: "what are my gifts?" and "what is my purpose?" A whole new world of writing has revealed itself. The purpose - to inspire everyone to a greater life, greater connection, and to use their gifts to Awaken & Rise! My first book, "Awaken & Rise" is now available on Amazon! My purpose is to let you know, despite the lies and fear spread by this world and our society to keep you from living the life you dream about, it is possible. Just simply AWAKEN & RISE!
This entry was posted in #rise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

