In The Mirror

I think there is a lot we can learn from kids, but often I don’t know what it is.  I get it when it comes to finding the fun, loving without hesitation, and maintaining an innocent set of eyes to view the great things of our world.  But beyond that, I have to dig.

Luckily today, God set my eyes on an example and it really spoke to me.

As I was sitting in my favorite coffee shop working to bring about the launch of my first book, a family with two little boys walked in and up to the counter.  The two boys seemed to be four and six years old by their height and playfulness.

The older boy was looking for ways to pleasantly harass the younger by trying to butt-bump him and put him in head locks.  It wasn’t done in a mean spirit, but with love. There is a difference.  I know because it looked nothing like how my brothers used to harass me.  🙂

Once the older brother’s attention switched to the cupcakes in the case the younger brother spotted his reflection in the mirror at the back of the case.  The older brother was transfixed on the treats, but the younger brother began to swing his hips like Forrest Gump when he met Elvis.  The hip swinging increased to a full on dance.  He seemed fascinated by the opportunity to entertain himself through the use of his image.

As the ridiculousness continued to build so did the smile on his face as he enjoyed seeing himself and his antics.  I realized I don’t do that.  If I see a mirror, I usually avoid it.  If I have no choice, but to look at my reflection, it is spent looking at what isn’t in place or what needs improved.  On a rare occasion, I may make a funny face to distract myself from trying to suck in my gut or trying to find the right angle where my hair isn’t so thin.

I now know, it is a wasted opportunity for joy!  Instead of lamenting what isn’t perfect in my mind, I need to enjoy the creature that I am.  There is no one else like me. And there is no one else like YOU!

Don’t waste your time in front of the mirror thinking or looking for ways to erase what you see as imperfect.  Swing your hips. Shake your butt. Dance. Enjoy. Love the person you are!

There is so much we can learn from kids. But damn! I wish I paid more attention to the lessons they teach.

Much love and gratitude, my friends,

Brian

http://www.brianlidle.com

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram: @brianlidle OR The Brian Lidle Company

 

About awakenandrise

Throughout my adult life I have worked in education. I have enjoyed this career to the fullest, but I have recently discovered there is more to me. As I asked the questions: "what are my gifts?" and "what is my purpose?" A whole new world of writing has revealed itself. The purpose - to inspire everyone to a greater life, greater connection, and to use their gifts to Awaken & Rise! My first book, "Awaken & Rise" is now available on Amazon! My purpose is to let you know, despite the lies and fear spread by this world and our society to keep you from living the life you dream about, it is possible. Just simply AWAKEN & RISE!
This entry was posted in #rise, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

