Decisions, Decisions

“What should I write about on my blog?” I have continued to ask myself this question since my book launch in April.  Ideas begin to fill my mind, but then the questions flood.

  • Should I put out excerpts from my book?
  • Should I share some of the struggles I am experiencing?
  • Should it be raw and real for a limited audience?
  • Should it be polished for a wider group?
  • Is this a passing feeling or one that is worth writing about?
  • Should I do some more work on the website?
  • How much time should I devote to each?

I attempt to shake this off and I begin to revisit potential topics.  The list of topics grows further and the questions return.  It’s official, I am overwhelmed from within.  I try to block it all out and begin, but then nothing I am writing feels right.  This classic bout with resistance is a common occurrence for many of us.  It hobbles productivity and it attacks purpose.  It is stifling.  I begin to doubt to my ability to make this decision.  Now I am telling myself that I struggle with making decisions.  This is a bad move!  Self-talk is too important to living my extraordinary life.  I am sabotaging myself.

Then I realized, I really don’t have trouble making decisions, BUT when it comes to a decision where I lack surety, I fight within myself.  I over analyze and start to tell myself the lie that I struggle with making a decision.

The reality is that I made several decisions to get to this point, but why does this one decision stifle me, because I have deemed it to be BIG.  Bigger than it is and I begin to fear failure.

Let me paint this differently.

He stepped to the edge of the planes interior.  “Are you ready to jump?” the instructor asked.  This was the moment of truth.  What was his answer?  Some believe, as I used to, that this was the moment of the decision.  But there were several decisions made before this one.

The decision to:

  • wake up
  • consider skydiving
  • travel to the airport
  • pay for the opportunity
  • watch the orientation and safety videos
  • suit up
  • enter the aircraft
  • step to the edge

Even on the macro scale, many decisions were made to get the skydiver to the edge and decision to jump.  However, it is the lack of surety or potentially the conclusion of this stream of decisions that can cause someone to freeze even with minimal options.  Upon this realization, I made a commitment: I will make decisions (after prayer, meditation, and thought).  I will live with the outcomes.  I will enjoy the process.  I will be grateful for the growth each will produce.  Most importantly, I will learn from the experiences that manifest due to my decisions.  I will no longer fear what could happen.  I will reject convention, but adhere to good sense as I grow to the next steps in my life.

I must step forward every day.  I cannot live in regret.  I am a regular guy, who has realized that the extraordinary life isn’t encompassed by indecision and fear.  An extraordinary life is manifested for the wise, the bold, and those who eschew fear.  Live bold.  Awaken and Rise.

Much love and gratitude, my friends,

Brian

http://www.brianlidle.com

Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram: @brianlidle OR The Brian Lidle Company

About awakenandrise

Throughout my adult life I have worked in education. I have enjoyed this career to the fullest, but I have recently discovered there is more to me. As I asked the questions: "what are my gifts?" and "what is my purpose?" A whole new world of writing has revealed itself. The purpose - to inspire everyone to a greater life, greater connection, and to use their gifts to Awaken & Rise! My first book, "Awaken & Rise" is now available on Amazon! My purpose is to let you know, despite the lies and fear spread by this world and our society to keep you from living the life you dream about, it is possible. Just simply AWAKEN & RISE!
This entry was posted in #rise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

